Access to the PPM Journal and newsletters is FREE for clinicians.

New Editorial Advisors Join Practical Pain Management

January 23, 2020
As PPM celebrates its 20th anniversary of publication, we are focusing on two decades of pain management evolution.

This year, Practical Pain Management (PPM) celebrates its 20th year of publication. Throughout 2020, you will find special reports and expert commentaries within our journal pages, and across our digital platforms, about the evolution of pain management over the past two decades. As part of this effort, PPM is pleased to announce its newest Editorial Advisory Board Members, listed below. Jeff Gudin, MD, and Jeffrey Fudin, PharmD, remain our Editors-at-Large.

Bob Twillman, PhD
The former executive director of the Academy of Integrative Pain Management (AIPM), Dr. Twillman has led national policy and advocacy efforts for the pain management community for 15 years. He maintains a volunteer faculty appointment as clinical associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Kansas City and served for seven years as chair of the Prescription Monitoring Program Advisory Committee for the Kansas Board of Pharmacy. Dr. Twillman is currently employed as a pain management psychologist at St. Luke’s Health System in Kansas City, MO.


Tina L. Doshi, MD, MHS (joined in 2019)
An assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, Division of Pain Medicine, at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore in Maryland, Dr. Doshi has been involved in a number of clinical trials for the treatment of neuropathic pain. She is the recipient of multiple research grants, from sponsors including the National Institutes of Health, and is a founding member and chair of the Women in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (WRAPM) Special Interest Group of the American Society for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine.


Helen N. Turner, DNP, RN-BC, PCNS-BC
Dr. Turner is a clinical nurse specialist and associate professor within the Pediatric Pain Management Center, Anesthesiology & Peri-Operative Medicine Department at Doernbecher Children’s Hospital/Oregon Health & Science University in Portland. In 2014-15, she served as President of the American Society for Pain Management Nursing (ASPMN).

We have also added a group of PATIENT ADVOCATES who will be advising for and on behalf of PPM’s patient audience, with content published to our patient site.

  • Beth Seickel, RN, representing the Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy Syndrome Association
  • Jaime Sanders, member of Coalition for Headache and Migraine Patients, and The Headache & Migraine Policy Forum
  • Richard Lawhern, PhD, representing the Alliance for the Treatment of Intractable Pain
  • Anita Gupta, DO, PharmD, MPP, will serve as a Volunteer Ambassador.

All board members as well as their disclosures are published with each board member’s profile


Last updated on: January 24, 2020
close X