Access to the PPM Journal and newsletters is FREE for clinicians.

Four AAPM Board Members Appointed to New US HHS Task Force

May 10, 2018
The Pain Management Best Practices Inter-Agency Task Force looks to improve protocols

A PPM Brief

Four of the 28 newly appointed members of the US Health and Human Services (HHS) Pain Management Best Practices Inter-Agency Task Force represent the American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM), according to a statement released by the academy.1 Appointees include board members Jianguo Cheng, MD, PhD; Rollin M. Gallagher, MD, MPH; Halena Gazelka, MD; and Friedhelm Sandbrink, MD. These board members represent a variety of disciplines, expertise, and advocacy, according to the release.

The task force aims to propose updates to best practices and issue recommendations to address gaps and inconsistencies for managing pain.1 They will host their first meeting on May 30, 2018 in Washington, DC.

“AAPM is the recognized authority for appropriate and effective pain care in the US and our members are expertly-trained clinicians practicing in the field of pain medicine. We look forward to representing our members and their patients,” Jianguo Cheng, MD, PhD said. He is the president of the AAPM and a professor of anesthesiology and director of the Cleveland Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship Program.

The other members representing the task force:1

  • Rollin M. Gallagher, MD, MPH is editor of the AAPM and a clinical professor of psychiatry and anesthesiology and critical care and the director for Pain Policy and Research and Primary Care for Penn Pain Medicine.
  • Halena Gazelka, MD is the assistant professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Sciences. She is the chair of the Mayo Clinic Opioid Stewardship Program and the director of Inpatient Pain Services for the Division of Pain Medicine at Mayo Clinic. Dr. Gazelka serves on the AAPM Ethics Council and Opioids Advisory Committee.
  • Friedhelm Sandbrink, MDis a federal member and the acting national program director for Pain Management Specialty Care Services at the Veterans Administration Health System. He is also the director of the Pain Management Program for the Department of Neurology at the US Department of Veterans Affairs.
Last updated on: May 18, 2018
Continue Reading:
FDA, AAPM Open Talks on Evidence-Based Opioid Prescribing
close X